








EXPLORATION LICENSE 
[Pursuant to § 82-4-331 et seq. MCA] 

1. Exploration License (for DEQ use) #

2. Applicant Information

This license, when executed by the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the Licensee, shall authorize the Licensee to 
explore for minerals in the State of Montana, in accordance with and subject to the exploration plan of operations and exploration 
map submitted with the application for this Exploration License to the extent that the Licensee’s exploration activities have been 
approved by DEQ and with any modifications or conditions agreed upon by DEQ and the Licensee. The Licensee certifies that they 
shall reclaim any surface area disturbed by mineral exploration activities in accordance with the Montana Metal Mine Reclamation 
Act and Rules and Regulations pursuant to the Act. The Licensee certifies that they are not in default of any reclamation obligations 
under Title 82, Chapter 4, Part 3, Montana Code Annotated (MCA). As of May 1, 2001, the fee for a new Exploration License is 
$100 USD; the fee for annual Exploration License renewals is $25 USD. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

Licensee (Company Name or Individual) 

Primary Contact Person 

Address 

City, State/Province, Zip/Postal Code 

Phone E-mail

Signature 
 

NOTARY 

Subscribed and sworn to me this    day of 

  , 20   . 

Notary Signature 

Residency (City,   
State/Province) 

Notary Public for the 
State/Province of: 

My commission expires: 

Excerpts from Title 82, Chapter 4, Part 3, MCA: 

"Exploration" means all activities that are conducted on or beneath the surface of lands and that result in material disturbance of the surface for the purpose of determining the presence, 
location, extent, depth, grade, and economic viability of mineralization in those lands, if any, other than mining for production and economic exploitation; and all roads made for the 
purpose of facilitating exploration... 

"Mineral" means any ore, rock, or substance (other than oil, gas, bentonite, clay, coal, sand, gravel, peat, soil materials, or uranium) that is taken from below the surface or from the surface 
of the earth... 

A person may not engage in exploration in the state without first obtaining an exploration license from the department. A license must be issued for a period of 1 year from date of 
issue and is renewable from year to year on application. An application for renewal must be filed within 30 days preceding the expiration of the current license and be accompanied by 
payment of a fee as required for a new license. A license may not be renewed if the applicant for renewal is in violation of any provision of this part. A license is subject to suspension 
and revocation as provided by this part.  

...a person or operator who violates a provision of this part, a rule or order adopted under this part, or a term or condition of a permit ...[or]...any director, officer, or agent of a corporation 
who willfully authorizes, orders, or carries out a violation of a provision of this part, a rule or order adopted under this part, or a term or condition of a permit [is subject to] a civil penalty of 
not less than $100 or more than $1,000 for each of the following violations, an additional civil penalty of not less than $100 or more than $1,000 for each day during which the violation 
continues, and an injunction from continuing the violation. If the violation created an imminent danger to the health or safety of the public or caused significant environmental harm, 
the maximum penalty is $5,000 for each day of violation. In addition, if any provisions of the Montana Water Quality Act, and/or rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the Act, are 
violated as a result of the exploration operation, the operator is subject to penalties of up to $25,000 for each day of violation. 

LICENSE INFORMATION 

Date received: Fee received: 

License issued by: Date: 
Hard Rock Mining Bureau; Air, Energy, and Mining Division 

License is valid from   to 

Return via mail:   DEQ Hard Rock Mining Bureau 
      P.O. Box 200901 

  Helena, MT 59620 

Return electronically: DEQSMESandExploration@mt.gov 
Questions?                (406) 444-3920 

Updated 1/25/2023 

mailto:jcorreia@mt.gov


EXPLORATION LICENSE 
Applicant Principal, Controlling Member, and Business Information 

The Department of Environmental Quality requires an exploration license applicant to provide a list of its principals and their corresponding firm or 
business associations of which the applicant or principal is or was a principal or controlling member and that previously has been issued an 
Exploration License, Operating Permit, or Small Miner Exclusion Statement under the Metal Mine Reclamation Act.   For individual applicants, the 
applicant may likely also be considered the principal. 

• If the applicant is not an individual:
o Please provide a list of the principals associated with the organization (See Section 1).
o Please provide a list of any business associations related to mining and exploration in Montana and the principal/controlling

member’s roles in that business association (See Section 2).
• If the applicant is an individual:

o Please identify the individual under the “Company Principals” table shown below (See Section 1).
o Please provide a list of any of the individual’s business associations related to mining and exploration in Montana and the

individual’s role in that business association.

1. COMPANY PRINCIPALS (if applicant is not an individual)

Name Role 

Name Role 

Name Role 

Name Role 

Name Role 

Name Role 
 

2. COMPANY PRINCIPALS OR CONTROLLING MEMBERS BUSINESS ASSOCIATIONS

Name Business/Organization (if any) Role (if any) 

Name Business/Organization Role 

Name Business/Organization Role 

Name Business/Organization Role 

Name Business/Organization Role 

Name Business/Organization Role 
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