

Air Quality Bureau • P.O. Box 200901 • Helena MT 59620-0901 • (406) 444-3490

## MONTANA MAJOR OPEN BURNING PERMIT APPLICATION

## Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)

Air Quality Bureau 1520 East Sixth Avenue P.O. Box 200901 Helena, MT 59620 deq-armb-admin@mt.gov

For State of Montana Use Only Permit Application #:			
Fee Paid with Application:	Yes 🗌	No 🗌	
Amount Paid:	Check #:		

This application form is to be used by burners who are classified as major open burners. A major open burner is any person, agency, institution, business or industry conducting any open burning that will emit more than 500 tons per

1.	Name of Applicant:				
2.	Mailing Address: PO B	ress:			
-	City	State	Zip		
3.	Telephone Number:				
4.	Contact Person:	<u></u>			
5.	E-Mail Address:	<u></u>			
	By August 31, the following information must be available to the Management System (AMS) or some other electronic form* and information at each proposed burn location:  (a) Legal Description, Geographic Coordinates or detailed (b) Elevation  (c) Method of burning to be used  (d) Average fuel loading or total fuel loading  (e) Site which are proposed for the Winter Burn Season (D *If information for each specific burn site is not maintained in the AMS of Microsoft Excel workbook and designate those units which are planned.	d must contain, at a minimum, map  December 1 through February database, it shall be provided to	the following 29)		
	Required fee which may include fees for Wildland Fire Use from the last year of burning accomplished or a minimum of \$35 of Montana 17.8.514). Contact the DEQ for additional information of Status:	50.00, as defined within the A	dministrative Rules		
8.			Date		

The estimated time for DEQ to process a correctly completed application form is 35 days from the date of publication of the public notice. The Department decision is not final unless 15 days have elapsed from the date of permit issuance and there is no request for a hearing before the Board of Environmental Review. Please refer to the Administrative Rules of Montana 17.8.610.



## MONTANA MAJOR OPEN BURNING PERMIT APPLICATION

## **Instructions to Applicants:**

The notice below must be published no earlier than 10 days prior to the date your application will be submitted to the department, and no later than 10 days following the date of submittal. The notice is to be published in the legal notice section of a newspaper of general circulation in the area affected. Questions regarding an appropriate newspaper should be addressed to the Air, Energy & Mining Division (division). Please submit a copy of the published notice(s) to the division with the application, if possible, or as soon thereafter as possible.

This notice is required by ARM Title 17, Chapter 8, Subchapter 6, Rule 17.8.610 Major Open Burning Source Restrictions.

PUBLIC NOTICE					
Notice of Application for Air Quality Major Open Burning Permit (pursuant to Section 75-2-211, MCA, and ARM Title 17, Chapter 8, Subchapter 6, Open Burning),					
Name of applicant(s)					
on or about an application for a major open					
has filed/will file date burning permit from the Air, Energy & Mining Division of the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (Department). Applicant(s) seeks approval of its/their application to open burn					
brief description of type of material to be burned					
at					
county(ies) in which the open burning is to take place					
Any member of the public with questions or who wishes to receive notice of the Department's determination, and the location where a copy of the application and the Department's analysis of it can be reviewed, or to submit comments on the application, must contact the Department at 1520 East Sixth Ave., P.O. Box 200901, Helena, Montana 59620-0901, phone (406) 444-3490.					
Any comments on the application must be submitted to the Department within 20 days after publication of this notice or filing of the application, whichever is later. The Department's decision to approve or deny an application for a major open burning permit may be reviewed by the Board of Environmental Review (Board) according to the following procedure:					
When the Department approves or denies the application for a major open burning permit under this section, a person who is jointly or severally adversely affected by the Department's decision may request, within 15 days after the Department renders its decision, upon affidavit setting forth the grounds therefor, a hearing before the Board. A hearing shall be held under the provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedures Act.					
The Department's decision on the application is not final unless 15 days have elapsed and there is no request for a hearing under this section. The filing of a request for a hearing postpones the effective date of the Department's decision until the conclusion of the hearing and issuance of a final decision by the Board.					

MOB Application 2 of 2 Revised: 2018