Federal Superfund and Construction


Z_20180417_FSS_Sites_Web (002)


Federal National Priority List (NPL) Site Map

Welcome to the home page of the Montana Federal Superfund and Construction Bureau. 

The tabs below provide a variety of links to information under the Federal Superfund and Construction Bureau. Also included are links to other web sites that have information related to Federal Superfund. 

Project Information

The following is a list of sites that the Federal Superfund and Construction Bureau is currently working on. The final column is the Project Manager contact information for Montana DEQ Remediation. The Project Manager oversees the work being done alongside the EPA. The second table contains information about the Black Pine Mining Site, the Stimson-Bonner Mill Site, and the Upper Blackfoot Mining Complex, all of which are non-NPL sites but are under the Construction portion of the Bureau.

EPA Superfund Cleanup Process

Site Name Short Name Site Location CERCLA/ EPA ID Lead DEQ Project Manager
ACM Smelter & Refinery NPC ACMSRNPC Great Falls MTD093291599 EPA Richard Sloan
Anaconda Smelter Site ACSS Anaconda MTD093291656 EPA Joel Chavez
Barker Hughesville Mining District BHMD Monarch MTD612230748 EPA Keith Large
Basin Creek Mine BCM Basin MTD982572562 MT DEQ Joel Chavez
Basin Mining Area BMA Basin MTD982572562 EPA Richard Sloan
BN Somers BNS Somers Non-NPL Site EPA Richard Sloan
Butte Mine Flooding BMF Butte MTD980502777 EPA Daryl Reed
Butte Priority Soils BPS Butte MTD980502777 EPA Daryl Reed
Carpenter-Snow Creek Mining District CSCMD Neihart MT0001096353 EPA Keith Large
Clark Fork River CFR Opportunity to Milltown MTD980717565 MT DEQ Joel Chavez
Columbia Falls Aluminum Reduction Plant CFAC Columbia Falls MTD057561763 EPA Richard Sloan
East Helena Smelter Site EHS East Helena MTD006230346 EPA Daryl Reed
Flat Creek IMM Site FCIMM Superior MT0012694970 EPA Daryl Reed
Frenchtown Mill (Smurfitt Stone)   Missoula Pre-Listing EPA Keith Large
Idaho Pole Co. IDPC Bozeman MTD006232276 EPA Keith Large
Libby Asbestos LA Libby MTD009083840 EPA Jason Rappe
Libby Ground Water Contamination LGWC Libby MTD980502736 EPA Jason Rappe
Lockwood Solvent Groundwater Plume Site LSGWP Billings MT0007623052 EPA Richard Sloan
Milltown Reservoir Sediments MRS Milltown MTD980717565 EPA Keith Large
Montana Pole and Treating MTPOLE Butte MTD006230635 MT DEQ David Bowers
Mouat Industries MI Columbus MTD021997689 EPA Daryl Reed
Rocker ROCKER Rocker MTD980502777 EPA Daryl Reed
Silver Bow Creek/Butte Area Stream Side Tailings SST Butte-Anaconda MTD980502777 MT DEQ Joel Chavez
Upper Tenmile Creek Mining Area UTCMA Helena, Rimini MTSFN7578012 EPA Richard Sloan
Warm Springs Ponds WSP Warm Springs MTD980502777 EPA Daryl Reed

Non-NPL Construction Sites

Project Site Name Short Name Site Location Program MT DEQ Lead Partners FSB Project Manager
Black Pine Mine BPM Philipsburg Construction Services MT DEQ USFS Bill Snoddy
Stimson-Bonner Mill PCB Site SBM Bonner State Superfund MT DEQ EPA/MT NRD Keith Large
Upper Blackfoot Mining Complex UBMC or Mike Horse Lincoln State Superfund MT DEQ USFS/MT NRD David Bowers


Montana Federal Superfund and Construction Bureau Contacts

DEQ Remediation Division

Environmental Protection Agency staff phone numbers

    • 1-406-444-6444 (Helena and out of state)
    • 1-406-444-6783 (Fax)
    • 1-800-246-8798 (Superfund Hotline)
    • 1-406-457-5000
    • 1-406-782-7415 (Butte area only)  
Name Title Phone Number
Matthew Dorrington Bureau Chief (406) 444-6445
Carolina Balliew Section Supervisor (406) 444-0214
Bill Snoddy Section Supervisor (406) 444-6555
Joel Chavez Project Manager (Lead) (406) 444-6407
Ben Quinones Project Manager (406) 444-6593
David Bowers Project Manager (406) 444-6335
Tim Reilly Project Manager (406) 444-6434
Keith Large Project Manager (406) 444-6569
Jason Rappe Project Officer (406) 444-6802
Daryl Reed Project Manager (406) 444-6433
Richard Sloan Project Manager (406) 444-6442
Rebecca Harbage Public Policy Director, DIR/PUB (406) 444-2813
Joann Wiggins Program Support Specialist (406) 444-6795

Physical Location:
1225 Cedar Street, Helena, MT 59601

Mailing Address:
PO Box 200901 Helena, MT 59620-0901
Phone: (406) 444-6444