DEQ Press Releases


Open Burning Season Ends Nov. 30, 2016

HELENA – The Montana Department of Environmental Quality has announced that the fall open burning season ends on Nov. 30, 2016. No open burning is allowed in the Western Montana Burn Zone until March 1, 2017, unless specific permission is obtained from the DEQ. The Western Montana Burn Zone includes the following counties: Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Lewis and Clark, Ravalli, Granite, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, and that portion south of I-90 in Park.

Open burning sources located in the Eastern Montana Open Burning Zone who wish to conduct open burning during the winter months must notify the DEQ by telephone prior to ignition at 406-444-3490.

Residents of Lewis and Clark, Yellowstone, Flathead, Missoula, Lincoln, and Cascade counties and all Indian reservations should contact their local air quality agency to understand local air quality related open burning rules.

For more information, please visit the Department’s Open Burning website at

For more information or to set up an interview for this story, please contact Lisa Peterson, DEQ Public Information Officer, 406-444-2929 or

Previous Article Public Comment Sought on Belt Water Treatment Options
Next Article Comment Sought on Hazardous Waste Permit Reissuance for ExxonMobil Refinery in Billings