DEQ Press Releases

Ogden, Karen

Libby Asbestos Superfund Advisory Team to meet March 8


HELENA – The Libby Asbestos Superfund Advisory Team will meet Thursday, March 8, at 6 p.m. in Libby at the Lincoln County Courthouse Commission Chambers, 512 California Ave. The team was established by the 2017 Legislature under Senate Bill 315 to enhance communication among stakeholders of the Libby Asbestos Superfund Cleanup. In addition, the Advisory Team will advise Montana DEQ on administration of the Libby Asbestos Cleanup Trust Fund and operation and maintenance accounts. As cleanup nears its end in many of the Operable Units of the Libby Asbestos Site, Montana DEQ and EPA will work with the Advisory Team and the community to establish institutional controls and define operations and maintenance activities appropriate to protect the cleanup in Libby. 


Advisory Team members are:


Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, Tom Livers (Chairman)

Lincoln County Commissioner: Mark Peck

Citizen of Lincoln County: George Jamison

One member of the Montana House of Representatives: Rep. Steve Gunderson:

One member of the Montana Senate: Sen. Chas Vincent


Senate Bill 315 also establishes one full-time DEQ employee as the Libby Asbestos Superfund Liaison to perform duties recommended by the Advisory Team and facilitate the Advisory Team’s quarterly meetings. The Libby Asbestos Superfund Liaison will be chosen by the governor from three candidates provided by the county commissioners.


The meeting agenda and other details are available at:


What: Libby Asbestos Superfund Advisory Team Meeting

When: Thursday, March 8, 6 p.m.

Where: Lincoln County Courthouse Commission Chambers, 512 California Ave., Libby, MT

Remote Attendance:

Conference ID Number: Conference number: 1426894
By Phone: 833-821-3112 (toll-free)
By Skype:

For more information or to set up an interview for this story, please contact: Karen Ogden, 406-444-6360 or or visit:

Previous Article DEQ Reports Water Quality Improvements on Seven Montana Waterbodies from 2015-2017
Next Article DEQ opens comment for West Glacier Water, Wastewater and Stormwater approval