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 AIR QUALITY 17.8.501 
 
 Subchapter 5 
 
 Air Quality Permit Application, Operation, 
 and Open Burning Fees 
 
 17.8.501  DEFINITIONS  For the purposes of this subchapter, the following 
definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Facility" means any real or personal property that is either stationary or 
portable and is located on one or more contiguous or adjacent properties under the 
control of the same owner or operator and that emits or has the potential to emit any 
air pollutant subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act of Montana or the Federal 
Clean Air Act, including associated control equipment that affects or would affect the 
nature, character, composition, amount, or environmental impacts of air pollution 
and that has the same two-digit standard industrial classification code.  A facility may 
consist of one or more emitting units. 
 (2)  "Major modification" has the same meaning as in ARM 17.8.801. 
 (3)  "Modified facility" means a facility for which an application to modify, as 
defined in ARM 17.8.740, is submitted to the department. 
 (4)  "New facility" means a facility for which the department has not previously 
issued a Montana air quality permit. 
 (5)  "New major stationary source" means a major stationary source, as 
defined in ARM 17.8.801, for which the department has not previously issued a 
Montana air quality permit. 
 (6)  "Portable facility" means an emitting source designated by the 
department in its database with the county code number "777," based on ability to 
move the source to other locations. 
 (7)  "Registered oil and gas well facility" means any registration eligible oil or 
gas well facility that has been registered for operation under the requirements in 
ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapter 17.  (History:  75-2-111, MCA; IMP, 75-2-211, 
MCA; NEW, 1991 MAR p. 2606, Eff. 12/27/91; TRANS, from DHES, 1996 MAR p. 
2285; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2271, Eff. 10/17/03; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2410, Eff. 
10/6/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 1664, Eff. 10/26/07; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1785, Eff. 
10/16/09; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 2455, Eff. 10/10/14.) 
 
 Rules 17.8.502 and 17.8.503 reserved 
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 17.8.504  AIR QUALITY PERMIT APPLICATION FEES  (1)  An applicant 
submitting a Montana air quality permit application required in ARM Title 17, chapter 
8, subchapters 7, 8, 9, or 10, shall submit the appropriate application fee as follows: 
 (a)  for a facility subject to ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapters 7 and 8, 9, or 
10: 
 (i)  for a new major stationary source - $15,000; 
 (ii)  for a major modification - $3,500; 
 (iii)  for a modification other than a major modification - $500; 
 (b)  for a facility subject to ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapter 7, and not 
subject to subchapters 8, 9, or 10, that is: 
 (i)  required by ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapter 12 to obtain an operating 
permit: 
 (A)  for a new facility - $2,000; 
 (B)  for a modified facility - $1,500; 
 (ii)  a new facility that is requesting an exemption under ARM 17.8.1204(3) - 
$1,000; or 
 (iii)  a modified facility that has received or is requesting an exemption under 
ARM 17.8.1204(3) - $500; 
 (c)  for a facility subject solely to ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapter 7: 
 (i)  for a new facility - $800; 
 (ii)  for a modified facility - $500; 
 (iii)  for a portable facility - $500. 
 (2)  An applicant submitting an air quality operating permit application 
required in ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapter 12, shall submit an appropriate 
application fee, as follows: 
 (a)  for a new permit - $6,500; 
 (b)  for permit renewal - $2,000; or 
 (c)  for a significant modification of a permit - $1,500. 
 (3)  An air quality permit application is incomplete until the appropriate 
application fee is paid to the department. 
 (4)  An air quality permit application fee is separate and distinct from any air 
quality operation fee required to be submitted to the department pursuant to ARM 
17.8.505. 
 (5)  Concurrent with submittal of a registration form, as specified in ARM 
17.8.1701 through 17.8.1705, the owner or operator shall submit a registration fee of 
$500.  (History:  75-2-111, 75-2-220, 75-2-234, MCA; IMP, 75-2-211, 75-2-220, 75-
2-234, MCA; NEW, 1991 MAR p. 2606, Eff. 12/27/91; AMD, 1993 MAR p. 2531, Eff. 
10/29/93; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 3189, Eff. 12/23/94; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 535, Eff. 
4/14/95; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 2415, Eff. 11/10/95; TRANS, from DHES, 1996 MAR p. 
2285; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 2581, Eff. 10/4/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1585, Eff. 9/9/97; 
AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2486, Eff. 9/11/98; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 2254, Eff. 10/8/99; AMD, 
2000 MAR p. 2697, Eff. 10/6/00; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2271, Eff. 10/17/03; AMD, 2005 
MAR p. 2058, Eff. 10/28/05; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 893, Eff. 4/7/06; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 
142, Eff. 2/13/09; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1785, Eff. 10/16/09; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 2455, 
Eff. 10/10/14.) 
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 17.8.505  AIR QUALITY OPERATION FEES  (1)  An annual air quality 
operation fee must be submitted to the department by the owner or operator of each 
facility: 
 (a)  for which a Montana air quality permit has been issued by the department 
and remains in effect; 
 (b)  for which an air quality operating permit has been issued by the 
department and remains in effect; and 
 (c)  registered with the department in accordance with ARM 17.8.1701 
through 17.8.1705. 
 (2)  Pursuant to this rule, fees shall be assessed to the owner or operator of 
record on the date of billing, for all facilities that meet the description in (1) as of 
March 1 of the calendar year in which fees are billed. 
 (3)  Air quality permit fee schedules will require owners and operators of all 
facilities required to obtain a Montana air quality permit or an air quality operating 
permit to contribute to those department activities funded by air quality permit fees.  
The department shall attempt to identify all facilities subject to the annual air quality 
operating fee requirement and shall require payment from the owners or operators of 
all facilities. 
 (4)  Annually, the department shall provide the owner or operator of each 
facility required to pay an air quality operation fee with written notice of the amount 
of the fee and the basis for the fee assessment. 
 (5)  The air quality operation fee is due within 30 days after receipt of the 
notice, unless the fee assessment is appealed pursuant to ARM 17.8.511.  If any 
portion of the fee is not appealed, that portion of the fee that is not appealed is due 
within 30 days after receipt of the notice.  Any remaining fee that is due after 
completion of an appeal is due within 30 days after issuance of the board's decision 
or within 30 days after issuance of the final decision in any judicial review of the 
board's decision. 
 (6)  If an owner or operator assessed an air quality operation fee fails to pay 
the required fee (or any required portion of an appealed fee) within 30 days after the 
due date, the department may impose a late payment charge of 10 percent of the 
fee (or of any required portion of an appealed fee), plus interest on the fee (or on 
any required portion of an appealed fee) computed at the interest rate established 
under 75-2-220(5)(a)(i), MCA. 
 (7)  The air quality operation fee for facilities other than portable facilities or 
registered oil and gas well facilities is: 
 (a)  an administrative fee of $900; and 
 (b)  a tonnage fee of an amount not to exceed $44.35 per ton of the actual, or 
the estimated actual, emissions by the facility during the previous calendar year of 
PM-10, sulfur dioxide, lead, oxides of nitrogen, and volatile organic compounds. 
 (8)  The air quality operation fee for portable facilities is $800. 
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 (9)  The air quality operation fee for registered oil and gas well facilities is 
$850. 
 (10)  The owner or operator of a facility may not be required to pay more than 
one administrative fee if the facility is subject to more than one Montana air quality 
permit issued by the department. 
 (11)  An air quality operation fee is separate and distinct from any air quality 
permit application fee required to be submitted to the department pursuant to ARM 
17.8.504. 
 (12)  Annual assessment and collection of the air quality operation fee will be 
on a calendar year basis.  The department may include conditions in a permit 
requiring payment of an air quality operation fee on a calendar year basis, including 
provisions prorating the required fee. 
 (13)  The owner or operator of each facility subject to (1) shall submit to the 
department, on the date specified by the department, all information necessary to 
complete an inventory of estimated actual emissions for the preceding calendar 
year.  The department shall notify the owner or operator of the facility of the date by 
which the information must be submitted.  The information submittal date may not be 
earlier than February 15.  (History:  75-2-111, 75-2-220, 75-2-234, MCA; IMP, 75-2-
211, 75-2-220, 75-2-234, MCA; NEW, 1991 MAR p. 2606, Eff. 12/27/91; AMD, 1992 
MAR p. 2390, Eff. 10/30/92; AMD, 1993 MAR p. 2531, Eff. 10/29/93; AMD, 1994 
MAR p. 3189, Eff. 12/23/94; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 535, Eff. 4/14/95; AMD, 1995 MAR 
p. 2415, Eff. 11/10/95; TRANS, from DHES, 1996 MAR p. 2285; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 
2581, Eff. 10/4/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1585, Eff. 9/9/97; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2486, 
Eff. 9/11/98; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 2254, Eff. 10/8/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 2697, Eff. 
10/6/00; AMD, 2001 MAR p. 2412, Eff. 12/7/01; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 2902, Eff. 
10/18/02; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2271, Eff. 10/17/03; AMD, 2004 MAR p. 2547, Eff. 
10/22/04; AMD, 2005 MAR p. 2058, Eff. 10/28/05; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 893, Eff. 
4/7/06; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2410, Eff. 10/6/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 1664, Eff. 
10/26/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2270, Eff. 10/24/08; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1785, Eff. 
10/16/09; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 2046, Eff. 10/20/18.) 
 
 17.8.506  CREDIT AGAINST AIR PERMITTING FEES FOR CERTAIN USES 
OF POSTCONSUMER GLASS  (1)  Sections 75-2-224 through 75-2-227, MCA, 
provide a credit against the fees imposed under this subchapter for using 
postconsumer glass in recycled material. 
 (2)  For the purposes of this rule, "postconsumer glass" and "recycled 
material" mean the same as defined in 75-2-224, MCA.  (History:  75-2-227, MCA; 
IMP, 75-2-211, 75-2-224, 75-2-225, 75-2-226, 75-2-227, MCA; NEW, 2002 MAR p. 
529, Eff. 3/1/02.) 
 
 Rules 17.8.507 through 17.8.509 reserved 
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 17.8.510  ANNUAL REVIEW  (1)  No later than September 30 of each year, 
the department shall report to the board regarding the air quality permit fees which 
are anticipated for the next calendar year.  This report shall include a description of 
the legislative appropriation to be recovered, the status of the specific appropriation 
account as of the end of the previous fiscal year, the emissions upon which such 
fees will be based, the fee structure to be implemented, and the status of any 
anticipated rulemaking activity necessary to adopt the new fees. (History:  75-2-111, 
MCA; IMP, 75-2-211, MCA; NEW, 1991 MAR p. 2606, Eff. 12/27/91; TRANS, from 
DHES, 1996 MAR p. 2285; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 2902, Eff. 10/18/02.) 
 
 17.8.511  AIR QUALITY PERMIT APPLICATION/OPERATION FEE 
ASSESSMENT APPEAL PROCEDURES  (1)  The department's fee assessment 
may be appealed by the owner or operator of the facility to the Board of 
Environmental Review within 20 days of: 
 (a)  receipt of the fee assessment notice; or 
 (b)  issuance of a determination of incompleteness of a permit application 
based on the lack of the proper permit application fee.  (History:  75-2-111, MCA; 
IMP, 75-2-211, MCA; NEW, 1991 MAR p. 2606, Eff. 12/27/91; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 
2061, Eff. 9/11/92; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 2285, Eff. 10/16/92; TRANS, from DHES, 
1996 MAR p. 2285; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 3041, Eff. 11/22/96; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 
2271, Eff. 10/17/03.) 
 
 Rules 17.8.512 and 17.8.513 reserved 
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 AIR QUALITY 17.8.514 
 
 17.8.514  AIR QUALITY OPEN BURNING FEES  (1)  Concurrent with 
submittal of an air quality major open burning permit application, as required in ARM 
17.8.610, the applicant shall submit an air quality major open burning permit 
application fee. 
 (2)  Air quality major open burning fees are separate and distinct from any air 
quality operation fee required to be submitted to the department pursuant to ARM 
17.8.505 or Montana air quality permit application fee required to be submitted to the 
department pursuant to ARM 17.8.504. 
 (3)  An air quality major open burning permit application is incomplete until the 
proper air quality major open burning fee is paid to the department.  If the 
department determines that the fee submitted with the application is insufficient, it 
shall notify the applicant in writing of the appropriate fee which must be paid before 
the major open burning permit application can be processed.  If the fee assessment 
is appealed to the board pursuant to ARM 17.8.511, and if the fee deficiency is not 
corrected by the applicant, the major open burning permit application is incomplete 
until issuance of the board's decision or until any judicial review of the board's 
decision has been completed, whichever is later.  Upon final disposition of an 
appeal, any portion of the fee due to either the department or the applicant as a 
result of the decision is due within 30 days after issuance of the board's decision or 
within 30 days after issuance of the final decision in any judicial review of the board's 
decision. 
 (4)  The air quality major open burning permit application fee shall be based 
on the actual, or estimated actual, amount of air pollutants emitted by the applicant 
in the last calendar year during which the applicant conducted open burning 
pursuant to an air quality major open burning permit required under ARM 17.8.610. 
 (5)  The air quality major open burning permit application fee is the greater of 
the following, as adjusted by any amount determined pursuant to (6): 
 (a)  a fee calculated using the following formula: 
 
  tons of total particulate emitted in the previous 
  appropriate calendar year, 
  multiplied by $20.60; plus 
  tons of oxides of nitrogen emitted in the previous 
  appropriate calendar year, 
  multiplied by $5.15; plus 
  tons of volatile organic compounds emitted in the 
  previous appropriate calendar year, 
  multiplied by $5.15; or 
 
 (b)  a minimum fee of $350. 
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 (6)  The department may reduce or eliminate, as appropriate, the air quality 
major open burning permit application fee to be collected from an applicant in 
recognition of the nonmonetary contributions made by the applicant to the smoke 
management program.  The department may recognize only those nonmonetary 
contributions made by the applicant in the last calendar year during which the 
applicant conducted open burning pursuant to an air quality open burning permit for 
major open burning sources, required under ARM 17.8.610.  To be accepted for the 
purpose of reducing an applicant's fees for the subsequent calendar year, a written 
claim for nonmonetary contributions to the smoke management program must be 
filed with the department no later than 60 days after the close of the calendar year 
during which the nonmonetary contributions were made by the applicant.  A claim 
must describe in detail both the nature of the nonmonetary contributions and the 
dollar value of the contributions.  Nonmonetary contributions may consist of, but are 
not limited to, staff time and the use of equipment, supplies, or space.  The 
department shall review any written claims submitted, and may adjust the dollar 
value of the nonmonetary contributions upon finding that the value assigned to the 
contributions is not reasonable, the nonmonetary contributions that were made were 
not reasonably related to the smoke management program, or both.  In no case may 
an applicant be reimbursed for nonmonetary contributions in excess of the 
applicant's assessed open burning permit fee.  (History:  75-2-111, MCA; IMP, 75-2-
211, 75-2-220, MCA; NEW, 1992 MAR p. 2061, Eff. 9/11/92; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 
2130, Eff. 8/12/94; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 1669, Eff. 8/25/95; TRANS, from DHES, 
1996 MAR p. 2285; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1587, Eff. 9/9/97; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 1729, 
Eff. 6/26/98; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 2697, Eff. 10/6/00; AMD, 2001 MAR p. 2023, Eff. 
10/12/01; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 2902, Eff. 10/18/02; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2271, Eff. 
10/17/03; AMD, 2004 MAR p. 2547, Eff. 10/22/04; AMD, 2005 MAR p. 2058, Eff. 
10/28/05; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2410, Eff. 10/6/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 1664, Eff. 
10/26/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2270, Eff. 10/24/08; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1785, Eff. 
10/16/09.) 
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 17.8.515  AIR QUALITY OPEN BURNING FEES FOR CONDITIONAL, 
EMERGENCY, CHRISTMAS TREE WASTE, COMMERCIAL FILM PRODUCTION, 
AND FIREFIGHTER TRAINING OPEN BURNING PERMITS  (1)  Concurrent with 
submittal of an air quality open burning permit application, as required in ARM 
17.8.611, 17.8.612, 17.8.613, 17.8.614, or 17.8.615, the applicant shall submit an air 
quality open burning fee. 
 (2)  Air quality open burning fees are separate and distinct from any other air 
quality fee required to be submitted to the department pursuant to this subchapter. 
 (3)  An air quality open burning permit application is incomplete until the 
proper air quality open burning fee is paid to the department, except as provided in 
(4)(c).  If the department determines that the fee submitted with the application is 
insufficient, it shall notify the applicant in writing of the appropriate fee which must be 
paid before the open burning permit application can be processed.  If the fee 
assessment is appealed to the board pursuant to ARM 17.8.511, and if the fee 
deficiency is not corrected by the applicant, the permit application is incomplete until 
issuance of the board's decision or until any judicial review of the board's decision 
has been completed, whichever is later.  Upon final disposition of an appeal, any 
portion of the fee due to either the department or the applicant as a result of the 
decision is due within 30 days after issuance of the board's decision or within 30 
days after issuance of the final decision in any judicial review of the board's decision. 
 (4)  The air quality open burning permit application fees are: 
 (a)  $100 for an emergency open burning permit under ARM 17.8.611.  A fee 
for an emergency open burning permit application need not be submitted with the 
initial oral request to the department, but must be submitted with the subsequent 
written application required under ARM 17.8.611.  Submittal of the fee is a condition 
of any authorization given by the department under ARM 17.8.611, and the failure to 
submit the fee is considered a violation of such authorization and may be subject to 
enforcement action; 
 (b)  $100 for a wood and wood byproduct trade waste open burning permit 
under ARM 17.8.612; 
 (c)  $100 for an untreated wood-waste open burning permit at a licensed 
landfill site under ARM 17.8.612.  The required fee for this activity is included in the 
solid waste management system licensing fee, submitted pursuant to ARM Title 17, 
chapter 50, subchapter 4.  Therefore, the applicant is not required to submit a fee 
with the untreated wood-waste open burning permit application; 
 (d)  $100 for a Christmas tree waste open burning permit under ARM 
17.8.613; 
 (e)  $100 for a commercial film production open burning permit under ARM 
17.8.614; and 
 (f)  $25 for a firefighter training open burning permit under ARM 17.8.615.  As 
a condition of a firefighter training open burning permit, the department may require 
submission of an annual fee to maintain the permit.  (History:  75-2-111, 75-2-211, 
75-2-220, MCA; IMP, 75-2-211, 75-2-220, MCA; NEW, 1992 MAR p. 2743, Eff. 
10/16/92; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 2830, Eff. 10/28/94; TRANS, from DHES, 1996 MAR 
p. 2285; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2271, Eff. 10/17/03.) 
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