Petroleum Tank Cleanup Section

 

Section Overview

 

The goal of the Petroleum Tank Cleanup Section is to protect human health and the environment from petroleum and hazardous substance releases from storage tank systems, both underground and above ground. Meeting this goal requires definition of the extent and magnitude of the contamination and implementation of the necessary corrective action. About the Program

HOTLINE for Reporting Leaks

Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

call 1-800-457-0568.

After hours and holidays call 1-406-324-4777.

NOTE: You must report to a live person.
Leaving a message does not constitute a report.

FAQs

Consultant List

Join the Consultants Email List

Join the MUST News Email List

 

 

Risk Based Corrective Action (RBCA) Document Updates

DEQ offered its RBCA guidance to consultants and contractors for questions and comments. For comments and questions please contact Amiee Reynolds at 406-444-6435 or by email at areynolds@mt.gov.

 

 

 

Office and Mailing Addresses
Physical Location:
1225 Cedar Street
Helena, MT 59601
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, MT 59620-0901
Kalispell Physical Location:
655 Timberwolf, Suite #3
Kalispell, MT 59901
Billings Physical Location:
Airport Business Park IP-9
1371 Rimtop Drive
Billings, MT 59105-9702

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Phone Numbers:

  • 1(406) 444-6444
  • 1(406) 444-6444 (Helena and out of state)
  • 1(406) 444-6783 (Fax)
  • 1(800) 457-0568 (Leak Line)
  • 1(406) 324-4777 (After Hours Leak Line)

Rebecca Ridenour

MT DEQ Logo

Section Supervisor
Phone: (406) 444-6436
RRidenour@mt.gov

Shannon Cala

MT DEQ Logo

Lead Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6377
SCala@mt.gov

Reed Miner (Kalispell)

MT DEQ Logo

Lead Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 755-8982
RMiner@mt.gov

Heidi Barnes

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6424
HBarnes@mt.gov

William Bergum

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-0216
WBergum@mt.gov

Donnie McCurry

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6584
DMccurry@mt.gov

Latysha Pankratz (Bozeman)

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 431-9811
LPankratz@mt.gov

Alan Schiff

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6728
ASchiff@mt.gov

Dean Kinney (Kalispell)

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 755-8983
DKinney@mt.gov

Jay Shearer (Billings)

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 247-4451
JShearer@mt.gov

Marla Stremcha (Billings)

MT DEQ Logo

Environmental Science Specialist
Phone: (406) 247-4450
MStremcha@mt.gov

Jeni Garcin-Flatow

MT DEQ Logo

Public Information Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6469
JFlatow@mt.gov

Sue Fairchild

MT DEQ Logo

Data Control Specialist
Phone: (406) 444-6423
SFairchild@mt.gov

Amber Skillman

MT DEQ Logo

Administrative Assistant
Phone: (406) 444-6443
ASkillman@mt.gov

 

 

Emerging Cleanup Technology (9/14/2016)

Description: Aimed at state and tribal corrective action employees, this webinar will provide participants with information on:

  • High Vacuum Dual Phase Extraction
  • Activated Carbon Injection

Webinar Recording

Webinar Presentations:
High Vacuum Dual Phase Extraction - Noel Shenoi, CalClean, Inc.
Activated Carbon Injection - Tom Fox, CO Division of Oil and Public Safety; Edward Winner, KY UST Branch

 

Smart Characterization - The New Era of Site Investigations. 

 

This is a two hour recorded webinar that consists of the following topics: 

  • Smart Characterization and Return on Investigation: Newly developed tools and strategies for mapping source zones and dissolved-phase plumes. Using high-resolution, Smart characterization strategies to reduce total life-cycle costs of restoration by 3x-5x

 

  • Stratigraphic Flux: A new classification system that enables one to extend sequence stratigraphy to understand transport and restoration potential and improve restoration performance. The approach maps relative mass flux and plume maturity using high-resolution characterization data and classical geology interpretation. 

 

  • A new approach to NAPL Management: leveraging return-on-investigation and stratigraphic flux approaches to develop digital NAPL CSMs, and determine when to manage and when to remediate NAPL. Topics will include advanced NAPL mapping methods, how to evaluate NAPL mobility and risk, and how inclusion of natural source zone depletion in the NAPL CSM is critical to practical restoration decisions.

 

The training was led by Arcadis experts in ROI (Return on Investigation) and Smart Characterization:

 

Nick Welty, director of Site Investigations for North America, and Rick Ahlers, global lead for NAPL Management.

For a full abstract, please see the attached PDF Smart Characterization

A recording of the webinar is on NEIWPCC’s website along with a pdf of the PowerPoint slides: http://www.neiwpcc.org/lust-cawebinararchive.asp.