New Facilities

The Air Quality Bureau at Montana DEQ has both permitting and registration programs for industry in Montana. Registration programs in Montana are available for facilities including oil and gas, crushers and screens, concrete batch plants, and asphalt plants. All other industry would fall under our permitting program. Click below to find more information about new permitting and registration sources, including what is required, how to apply, and if renewal is necessary.

 

Introduction

Any source with the potential to emit regulated pollutants above the following threshold levels is required to submit an application:

  • Any source emitting more than 5 ton/year of lead (Pb) or 25 tons/year or any other pollutant; OR
  • An incinerator of any kind

Any source with the potential to emit regulated pollutants above the following threshold levels is required to submit a Title V permit application.

  • A source that has the Potential To Emit (PTE)>100 tpy of any criteria pollutant, which include sulfur dioxide, oxides of nitrogen, volatile organic compounds, particulate matter 2.5, particulate matter 10 , carbon monoxide
  • PTE>10 tpy of any individual hazardous air pollutant (HAP) or
  • PTE>25 tpy of combined HAPs
  • When required by other applicable regulations (For example, NSPS or MACT).

Montana Air Quality Permits (MAQPs)

Some general guidance for minor source operation is described below.

If you have questions, please call 406-444-3490

Any source with the potential to emit regulated pollutants above the following threshold levels is required to submit an application:

  • Any source emitting more than 5 ton/year of lead (Pb) or 25 tons/year or any other pollutant; OR
  • An incinerator of any kind

You must apply for, and receive an MAQP prior to construction of a facility or modification at an existing facility.

  1. Complete the application form for a stationary source.
  2. As part of the permit application, a public notice must be posted in a newspaper of local circulation. An affidavit of this notice must be provided as part of the application.
  3. Submit appropriate fee.

The cost of an MAQP depends on the source type. Find the appropriate application fee here.

75 to 90 days upon complete application. The timeline for the 75 day process is shown here. The timeline for the 90 day process is shown here.

MAQPs do not expire. For changes to a facility with an existing MAQP, see the Existing Facility page.

Title V Sources

Some general guidance for Title V sources is described below.

If you have questions, please call 406-444-3490

Operating permits are issued for those facilities that fall under the Title V program. A Title V Operating Permit contains all applicable air pollution requirements including emission limits, operational restrictions, monitoring, testing and reporting requirements.

Below is a list of what Title V permits do not cover.

  • Permits do not and can not add new emission limitations
  • Permits do not and can not change existing emission limitations
  • Determinations made in the preconstruction permit process are not up for re-approval during the operating permit process
  • National ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) are not considered applicable requirements in the operating permits

Any source with the potential to emit regulated pollutants above the following threshold levels is required to submit a Title V permit application.

  • A source that has the Potential To Emit (PTE)>100 tpy of any criteria pollutant, which include sulfur dioxide, oxides of nitrogen, volatile organic compounds, particulate matter 2.5, particulate matter 10 , carbon monoxide
  • PTE>10 tpy of any individual hazardous air pollutant (HAP) or
  • PTE>25 tpy of combined HAPs
  • When required by other applicable regulations (For example, NSPS or MACT).
  1. Complete the Title V operating permit application:
  2. Send each completed application to: DEQ-ARMB-Admin@mt.gov
  • Title V Operating permit applications are due within 1 year of the commencement of operation.
  • Permits take no less than 110 days to become effective
  • Permits are issued draft for a 30 day public comment period
  • Permits are issued proposed for a 45 day EPA review period
  • Permits are issued as Date of Decision for the 30 day appeal period to the Montana Board of Environmental Review
  • Permits are then final and effective in the State of Montana
  • EPA has an appeal period of 60 days beginning at the end of EPA’s 45 day

Find the applicable Title V application or renewal fee here.

Title V Operating Permit renewal is required every 5 years.

PSD Sources

This section is under construction. Please check call 406-444-3490 or check back later for more information about our PSD program